Encounter with a Night Fae

I had never seen one of her kind before. Night fae hid from light, and we humans gather around it like insects begging for warmth and salvation. So, when I stumbled upon her in the forest which stretched out from the backdoor of my own home, I was startled. I did not know they settled so closely to my home. And in the depths of the darkness that closed around the whole forest, I distrusted my very own eyes. Even I know that human eyes are fickle things, only capable of seeing what they wish to see.

Her skin looked like the thick smoke that billowed from chimneys above the cabins in our town, simultaneously dark and luminous, as it hung placid in the winter air. Translucent wings twitched, luminescence glowing from within and casting a strange aura around her cinereous skin.

Eyes, undaunted by my sudden appearance in the dark landscape, looked towards me. It felt as if they sought me out, grasped at the edges of my soul to determine my virtue, or lack thereof. I do not know if her eyes emanated the same glow which cast itself about from her wings, or if it was a reflection of the magic which she contained in the palm of her hand. The magic remained steady, lighting up her face which seems soft and kind but somehow distant, even as she stared at me with those cerulean eyes which tugged at my thoughts. Her mere gaze felt like an invasion, but it was difficult to concentrate as the glow of magic in her palm grew, pulsing and oscillating. It drew me in, captured me as I stood transfixed before the beautiful, delicate creature.

050116-01 (Edit 1).png

Bloglings! How I have missed you! A couple weeks ago, Muse was finally returned to me. The account was fixed. Linden Labs told me that she had an inventory bug, but it has now been resolved. It is a bit strange how accustomed and comfortable one becomes with a chosen identity. And it was so bizarre not having her around. I have spent the last couple weeks getting reacquainted with her inventory. I don’t remember all the new things I had purchased or where I had left off. I have also been really attempting to purge things. My inventory went from 130K to 93K, I would like to get lower and will be working on that.

So, while doing that, I updated my drow fairy. Nothing in this photo is particularly new, but they are things I love, and I just wanted to take a quick snap of the avatar.

050216-02 (Edit 1)

The skin here is from Alterego. They make some of my favorite fantasy skins right now. If you’re interested, please demo the skins. The faces are much lighter than the body and this can look a bit strange, if you aren’t accustomed to it. This is how the skins were intended, they blend together beautifully from the body to the head.

The wings are from Amalgamation and are some of my favorite fae wings. I may be biased because my best friends created them, but they are beautiful and come with so many options, including animations.I wanted to show a quick gif of them here, since I haven’t done that before. The animation is a bit quicker in world, was lagging a bit due to the recording.

amalgamation wings.gif

Clickety-click for the deetz:

Body:

Alterego – Mayumi Drow*
The Mesh Project – Soft Head**
Maitreya – Lara Mesh Body***
SLink – Avatar Enhancement Hands
Wasabi Pills – Ryleigh****
Amalgamation – Flutter Wings
Bentbox – Sylvan Ears****

Zibska – Eye and Lip Makeup

Clothing and Accessories:

Bliesen & Maitai – Gilgalad Armband

Poses and Props:

Magic orb (custom item from a friend of mine)
Musa! Orb Pose 002 (these poses also come with their own magical orbs)


*Skin Addiction is a great resource for all your skin updates in a single space. Don’t forget to check the blog for my weekly roundup posts and join the group for the most helpful SLers in all of SL.

**TMP can be a confusing place to shop for some people. If you walked into the store and you were confused on what the hell you were supposed to be doing in there, this little shopping tutorial will help!

***You notice that I am always using a mesh body these days? Notice that all the chatter in SL is about mesh bodies and mesh heads? Want to get one of your own but don’t know where to start? I made a shopping guide about them, it can explain some of the basic concepts behind a mesh body, how to use it, and why you might want one (or ten) for yourself! Right here! Still need more information? Want reviews and endless reams of lists for your aresenal of mesh body love? Check out the Mesh Body Addicts blog. It is a wealth of information.

****Love hair? Of course, you do. Want to be updated on all hair news? (The correct answer is yes). Then stop on my the Hair SL blog and don’t forget to join their in world group for notices.

*****You can barely see them in this post, but these Bentbox Sylvan elf ears are amazing. They have so many options, including animations. You can see my previous writeup on them right here.


Looking at an old blog post? Is the event over or the landmark out of date? No problem! Go to the menu and find the stores page in the upper right-hand corner. Here is a list of all the stores I have blogged. I have their blog and flickr linked if I was able to find them. The landmark or marketplace is also linked. Most importantly, I have the name of the creator listed. When in SecondLife, search for the name and they should have an updated landmark in their profile picks!

You can also find a list of events, sorted by how often they recur with fairs at the bottom. Also! Some of my favorite blogs and production companies are found on the Blog Roll.

Leave a Reply

